The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of

Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the

Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate

of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another

graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in

under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can

absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per

employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this

fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy

Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our

employees to take the Easy Read course.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Answer- In the above recommendation, the author argues that to be more lucrative Acme Publishing Company should encourage their employees to take the Easy Read course. The author supports his argument based on the fact that after graduating from the Easy Read course the employees' performances enhanced significantly. Furthermore, the author supports his argument by the fact that the course charges only 500 dollars, and given the benefits of the course the charge is significantly low. However, before evaluating the author’s argument three unstated assumptions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author supports his argument that the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course will improve the employees’ productivity based on the report of the companies without providing the authenticity of the report. Maybe only 6 companies reported that the course will improve the productivity of the employees. Then concluding something based on very small sample size is seriously unwarranted. Even if this is not the case, the author does not provide any admissible evidence about the other companies. Maybe the other companies are not similar to Acme Company where speed reading is required for better performances, then the author’s argument holds no water. If the author is able to offer more evidence perhaps in the form of a statistical data chart of each of the companies then it will be possible to evaluate the author’s argument to a certain extent.

Secondly, the author bolsters his argument about the efficacy of the course based on the report of graduates. Perhaps out of 100 graduates only 2 graduates’ productivity has improved after taking the course then one can not argue that the course will improve the productivity in general. Furthermore, the author argues that by only taking the course a graduate rose from assistant manager to vice president without any proper evidence. Maybe the employee has a better analytical skills or maybe before taking the course the employee’s performance was consistently better over the past 5 years. Then arguing that the course helped the employee to become an assistant manager is somehow fictitious. The author has to provide more evidence perhaps in the form of a proper survey of the graduates of the course in order to rectify his claim.

Thirdly, the author states that faster reading is associated with more absorption of knowledge in less time without providing any justifiable evidence. There is a feasibility that maybe one employee can read fast but his ability to absorb knowledge is significantly low. Perhaps while reading fast people may be unable to connate on the content of the reading after a certain time. If the above scenario is true then the author’s argument is built unreliably. If the author is able to provide more veritable evidence perhaps in the form of a research study regarding the amount of knowledge one can absorb while reading speedily, then it will strengthen the author’s argument.

In the conclusion, the author’s argument stands now is seriously flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to elucidate the three unstated assumptions above and offers more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study ) then it will be possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation that Acme would be remunerative greatly by requiring all of their employees to the Easy Read course.