The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt states an assertion for a personnel director that allowing their employees to complete the Easy Read course will turn out beneficial for the Acme Publishing Company. But, this assertion incorporates many underlying assumptions with need to be substantiated with evidence to hold any water.

Firstly, the personnel director states that many companies have provided positive feedback regarding the Speed-Reading Course in increasing the productivity of the employees. But, if the Speed-Reading Course if beneficial for some companies, it does not mean it would be beneficial for Acme Publishing as well. These companies might be different from Acme Publishing Company in terms of content, culture and skillset required for the job. The diversity of the publishing content would be an important factor in determining the usefulness of course. For instance, at a Legal Publishing company would require a more meticulous and comprehensive reading compared to a publishing company working in the field of sports or fashion. Thus, the Speed-Reading course might turn out harmful, instead of conducive. Therefore, the personnel director should provide evidence regarding the relevant field of the companies who have undertaken the course for an effective comparison.

Secondly, apart from the excluding the diversity among companies, the personnel director quotes the achievements of few employees at different firms who undertook Speed-Reading Course. But, there is no proof provided regarding the authenticity of these claims. And, even if these claims are true, they might not be common among all the employees, or might just be an anomaly or personal achievements. Apart for this, personnel director quoted the rise of an assistant manager to vice president, but there might be difference in corporate hierarchies among the companies. For one it might take few years to become a Vice Presidents, on the contrary decades at some other firm. Therefore, the personnel director should corroborate his or her quotations with evidences regarding the authenticity and uniformity of the achievements.

Thirdly, the personnel director argues that $500 per employees would be a small amount considering the benefits. But, this assertion does not take into account the number of employees working at Acme Publishing Company. For a firm with small number of employees the amount might not be huge, but for firm with large number of employees it would really high. Therefore, the personnel director should take into consideration the strength of the company while making an assertion regarding the affordability.

Conclusively, the personnel director, while promoting the Easy Read Speed Reading Course, takes into account a lot of assumptions which should be validated with evidence.