the letter to the editor for the West Lansbug News argues that the construction of the road should be prohibited to preserve the region's biodiversity, and ensure a healthy environment. While asserting this

The author of the letter to the editor for the West Lansbug News argues that the construction of the road should be prohibited to preserve the region's biodiversity, and ensure a healthy environment. While asserting this, the author of the letter incorporates a lot of underlying assumptions, three of which are mentioned below.

Firstly, the author of the letter states that tufted groundhog who lives in coastal wetlands of West Lansburg showed a decline in the ancient records. But, there is not evidence regarding the authenticity of these records. Maybe these records are specious, or even if we consider them to be true, they might not give insights into the present day scenario, as they belong to older time. The information provided in these records might be outdated by now. Apart from this, as the development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited, since it was declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, maybe the number of the tufted groundhog have risen by now. And, the development can go abreast to the preservation of tufted groundhog. Therefore, the assertion is lacking major evidence reagrding the authenticity and viability of these ancient records, as well as current population of tufted groundhog. Until these evidence is provided, the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, the author of the letter makes a comparison with the Eastern Carpenteria, which saw a decline in sea otter population after the development process started. But, this claim assumes that West Lansburg and Eastern Carpenteria are analogous or have similar biodiversity. Maybe the Eastern Carpenteria, has different environment and landscapes. And, maybe sea otter population is more volatile to changes compared to tufted groundhog. Apart from this, the decline was noted in 1978, and no analysis is presented that it will be true today as well. As the construction industry has progress a lot since 1978, it may not disturb the environment as it used to in 1978. Thus, the assertion should be substatiated with evidence reagarding the comaprison between West Lansburg and Eastern Carpenteria, and till the assertion is not incontrovertible.

Thirdly, the author states that to preserve region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should no pass this project. But, will making this assertion the author assumes the groundhog population to represent the whole biodiversity, which is not true. The tufted groundhog are just a small part of the whole biodiversity, even if their is some impact over the groundhog population, then it may not be a whole catastrophe for the entire environment. Therefore, author appropriates the groundhog as a whole biodiversity. Therefore, the author's statement is not valid in this part.

Conclusively, the author of the letter subsumes a lot assumptions while inferring tha the development process in the West Lansburg should be resisted. Therefore, he or she need to provide evidences for his or her argument to be impeccable.