The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

As per the memo to the board of directors of directors a company, there would be an increased demand for fuel during winters. There are three major unanswered assumptions which are incorporated by the author of the memo, and needs be answered for a persuasive conclusion.

First of all, the author states that most of the homes in the northeastern United States, during winters, traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. And while stating so, the author assumes that if a practice has been conventionally going on for years, would still be undertaken in the present day scenario by majority of the people living in that area. It is possible that the residents might have moved on to the latest technological advancements in the heating industry. Maybe majority of the people started using Electric Heaters instead of the orthodox methods of the heating using fuel. Thus, the author needs to hold this into account in order to make his/her assertion hold true.

Second of all, the writer of the memo assumes that the decline in the temperature would be so intense that it would require more heating. It has been stated that the region experienced temperature below normal temperatures for 90 days. However, there is no data provided for quantifying the decline. It might be minute and would not even require extra heat for survival. If the lowering in the temperature was in the order of 0.5 degrees, then the heating used during the normal temperatures would be sufficient. Therefore, the author needs provide information regarding the drop in temperature for his conclusion to be convincing.

Finally, the author assumes that the population growth will result in the construction of new homes. But, maybe the hike in population can be accommodated in the currently existing homes, or the growth in the population results in migration of residents to a new place during the winters. As the number of homes in the region might not change drastically, the requirement for excess amount of fuel for heating might not be valid. Thus, the author needs to provide more fungible evidence regarding the construction of new home for incorporating the population rise, and thus a rise in demand for the fuel.

In conclusion, the author takes into account 3 major assumptions which would have a great deal of affect for quantifying the rise in the amount of fuel required by the residents of northeastern United States during winters. Thus, it order to make his/her assertion more sound, he/she needs to provide more data for eradicating above mentioned speculations.