The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil. "Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The note presented to the top management of the company specializing in transport of heating oil contained few factors which might be favourable to the company. According to the claim, as winters in northeastern part of the United States are cold, there will be an increase in demand of heating oil in next half decade. Additionally, the claim is supported by the fact that increase in number of residents in the area will also a play a part in increase of demand for heating oil. But, on scrutiny, it may be possible that the forecasted demand might not be dependant on statements provided in the argument. Thus, some of the flaws associated with the presented argument will be described further.

Firstly, climate change across the world has led to increment in average temperatures. Consequently, it might not be a good idea to only look at the data of past heating season. Taking into account the average temperature of the past decade, it might result in different theory related to aberrant last heating season. So, it would be apt to study and research the weather patterns and other geological events of the area before predicting that the upcoming winters will be harsher than previous ones. Furthermore, the author has not mentioned the credibility of the survey stating that most homes use heating oil. The survey might not be a perfect representative of the northeastern region of United States or it may be the case that the survey was conducted many years ago.

Secondly, it is mentioned that settlement of the people in the northeastern region of the United States increases. If the weather conditions in the winter season have below-normal temperatures, then, new residents would be more inclined towards finding houses with built-in heating system. Due to the advent of technology, the heating system suited towards mainting warm temperatures across the home has become cost-effective, automatic and is comparatively more hassle-free than exploiting the heating oil. As the lives of people become more hectic, working professionals and students would prefer homes with heating system.

The memo contains assumptions which are based on weak pillars. The arguments presented in the memo would have been convincing if the author had provided more statistics and figures on past trend of below-normal temperature, population of the regions taken in consideration and amenties provided by the upcoming new homes in the area. Thus, as mentioned earlier a closer look on different factors may lead to better predictions concerning the pattern of heating oil's demand.