The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the

delivery of heating oil.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally

used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with

below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue

for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to

recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will

experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide

whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain

how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Taking into consideration the following that appeared in the memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil it can be considerably seen that there are many undiscussed and questionable factors in the memo that should be considered and to be taken care of. Mentioning the below unclear points in the paragraph they are as followed.

Firstly, it has been mentioned in the first line that most of the homes in the northern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as a major fuel for heating. The first flaw is there is no specific number of homews mentioned, it has just mentioned most of the homes. So that point fails to make a valid point in the argument. It also mentions that they use oil as their major fuel for heating so as oil might be a major fuel but other items may also be usedas an alternative for heating up.

Secondly, it states about the last heating season about the region that experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Depending on the climate change and relying on the weather forecasters have never been proved beneficial as it is just a prediction which could not also follow as per predicted. It clearly weakens the argument showing dependence just on the basis of further several years prediction, as it is not just reliable factor.

Thirdly, it shares the idea about many new homes being built due to the recent population growth in the region. Relying just on the new homes and houses being built and the population growth dependingon the upcoming years it can’t be said that the population should also remain in that region only in the near future. It might also happen that people could change their region, may have moved to a different house or anything related to migration is also possible. That would also not agree with the argument being stated.

Following on all these facts, there are many unanswered questions and just dependence has been shown depending upon the factors that have not been justified as they as just a matter of various predictions only. So the increasing demand for heating oil in the next five years, remain as an unsolved mystery. It is purely unreasonable and also people would shift to another material or any other items for producing heat. Only the demand for heating oil will be increased cannot be justified or be relied upon.

Lastly, considering all the above points we can sum up to that the following appeared in the memo were just a prediction and was no mentioned or proved study or hypothesis. All of the mentioned points in the memo were just predicted factors and fully mercurial factors. So, nothing mentioned in the memo can be depended upon. Hence increasing demand is fully questionable and not justifiable.