The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sale. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore, teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The data provided from the survey of high school math and science teach it shows that in the district of Sanlee many teaches gave daily homework whereas in the district of Marlee most of the teachers reported assigning homework no more than a week. It is a clear matter of fact that the students of Marlee had more time to concentrate on other work like assignment, personal building and free time also. Gaining various insights from the survey we can deduce to some of the below-marked points.

Firstly, it clearly shows from the survey that despite of math and science teachers giving daily homework in district of Sanlee they didn’t have had better grades. On the other hand, the students from the district of Marlee who had less homework compared to the students of district of Sanlee they had even better grades overall. It never depends on how much homework you give the students to do as studying and learning has never been a piece on quantity rather than being a quantitative term it is a qualitative term.

Secondly, as mentioned it shows that the students of Marlee were very less likely to repeat a year while comparing them to the students of Sanlee district. These all points therefore call into the question that whether these frequent assignments did really help to boost a student’s academic performance. It can be inferred that the teachers of Marlee would be focused more on the student’s quality of homework he does and understands the topics and concepts rather than giving away a whole lot of burden every day.

Thirdly, as the students of Marlee had no daily assignments they had a sufficient amount of time to concentrate on individual assignments than the students of Sanlee. So, it was also beneficial to them that they could have focused better on the individual assignments and they would have also prepared well for the exams. As on the other hand, those students of Santee who had there homework every day would not be able to give as much time to focus on their individual assignments, while many of their might have had utilized keeping them engaged with their daily homework.

Finally, it can become up to the conclusion that the evidence given for the argument truly concludes that teachers in high schools should not assign homework more than twice a week. More work than that only acts as a burden for a student and that doesn’t help him or her focus on their individual assignments. It can clearly be implied that the frequency of homework given daily to the students is not directly proportional to the marks obtained by them. So, the argument truly supports the fact that came up from the survey of high school math and science teachers.