The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The data presented in the survey has found that the students in two different schools have performance differences due to the amount of homework they are assigned to by their math and science teachers. As the author has mentioned, students from Sanlee are not doing well with their overall grades because of the daily assignments they are given. Whereas, students from Manlee district are earning better grades and are less likely to repeat a year because of receiving home works no more than two or three weeks per week. So, the author is suggesting for the teachers in his/her school no to assign homework more than twice a week. But, this suggestion can't be evaluated without having the undermentioned three evidences proven and presented.

First of all, the students from the district of Sanlee are maybe assigned with a little amount of homework, since they are given it daily by their math and science teachers. So, we can't be sure that their daily homework is creating an overload for them. On top of that, maybe it's not because of the daily homework, but the method of teaching that they are finding difficult which is why they are unable to complete their assignments. So, we can't be sure if it is exactly because of the daily homework they are getting bad grades. Their mental health, student facilities and everything that provides them a better school environment are also some of the major factors that can affect their result adversely. So, without proving evidence that these factors are not unchecked, the author can't confirm that it is because of their daily homework that they are less likely to do good performance in their academic results.

Looking at the given data, it is observed that the students from the Manlee district are doing better in terms of their overall grades and not requiring to repeat a year in school much. The author points out that maybe it's because of the less amount of homework they are assigned, they are getting more time to concentrate on their study. If considered the given reason, maybe they are feeling less pressurized as they have enough time, if not, at least more time than students from Sanlee to comfortably focus on their academic studies and go through the notes and books to analyze and learn the lessons and work their way to complete the homework by time. In this case, maybe teachers from Manlee has found this to be effective for their students, which is why they don't overload them with excessive amount of assignments. But, they need to provide evidence if it is planned because of their research done on their student's performance or it has other factors that are involved with increasing their students' performance. Without confirming that it is because of the less amount of homework given to them they are doing well in their academics, we can’t comprehend that assigning few homework per week will improve the students’ overall grades.

Another evidence we must look at is the total amount of students in both the districts. Maybe, the Sanlee district has 3000 students among which the students who are not getting better grades are 40% of the total which in number 1200 students. It leaves the other 1800 students who are still doing well in spite of having daily homework in their school. But, the students who are doing well in the district of Manlee maybe 60% of the total students (1500) and that is 900 students and the other 600 students are still not being able to do well. Even though, they have less home works to do every week. If we look at the amounts, the number of students who are doing well in the Sanlee is still greater than that of Mnalee. So, the percentage will not tell us how exactly less homework is the cause of the students in Manlee to earn better grades. So, without proving concrete evidence and statistics on whether this data is thoroughly indicating that 'amount of homework' is the reason that's making the differences in the academic performance of both these districts students, the author's suggestions falls apart and it can't be considered.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide evidence on the three issues that are weakening its accuracy (perhaps in the form of systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to assign homework at best twice a week in high school.