The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors.

"Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food stores. Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy Industries are high in fat and cholesterol, the company's sales are likely to diminish greatly and company profits will no doubt decrease. We, therefore, advise Old Dairy stockholders to sell their shares, and other investors not to purchase stock in this company."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

In the newsletter, the author offers advice to Old Dairy Industries to sell their shares, and other investors not to purchase stock in this company because of the fat and cholesterol being highly present in their products. The advice of the author is based on the evidence provided by a survey where more than 80 percent of the respondents indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterols. While the recommendation by the author seems persuasive, it is based on three unwarranted assumptions, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three questions must be answered.

First, was the survey conducted with the proper scientific approach? If the survey was based on a non-representative sample, then the result concluded from the study cannot be regarded as significant. It is possible that the study collected most of the data from overweight or obese respondents who have their own health issue that makes them inclined to a reduction in weight. Thus, the responses collected from those respondents would be biased towards an answer maintaining reducing their fat intake and cholesterol-controlling foods. If the author doesn't provide enough evidence regarding sample respondents, then the conclusion drawn based on this survey does not hold water.

Secondly, Is there any evidence available if the companies of those low-fat products which abound in food stores have started to gain significantly larger profits than the Old Dairy Industries? The advice of the author indicates selling Old Dairy shares and other investors not to purchase stock in this industry. But the investors and stockholders cannot rely on only one survey result to take such decisions. The stockholders and investors must require financial data regarding profit in both high-fat products and low-fat products and compare them to reach a decision. But the author of the newsletter doesn’t provide such financial evidence to make such advice to the stockholders and investors. Hence, it is required to provide further evidence regarding profit and revenues from both kinds of industries.

Finally, the argument does not mention any information regarding the percentage of products from Old Dairy Industries which contain high fats. The author says that many of the products from that industry are high in fat and cholesterol. It may be possible that the percentage of high fat and cholesterol products is relatively low with respect to the large variation of products in that industries. Old Dairy Industries may produce many more other products not containing high fat and cholesterol. So, even if the study provides valid evidence about the product choice from the respondents, the other products of Old Dairy Industries may be responsible for a high revenue after experiencing low sales in their high fat and cholesterol products.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unfounded assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above three questions and offer more evidence, then it will possible to fully evaluate the viability of the advice referred by the author.