The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors.

"Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food stores. Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy Industries are high in fat and cholesterol, the company's sales are likely to diminish greatly and company profits will no doubt decrease. We therefore advise Old Dairy stockholders to sell their shares, and other investors not to purchase stock in this company."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

In the newsletter author gives us information about some survey where people have showed there desire to reduce intake of fat and cholesterol rich food. Further he tells us that the Old Dairy Industries produce such kind of product, so, they may face heavy reduction in sales and profit margin. Now he is making an universal advice that Old Dairy stockholders must sell their shares and no investors should purchase stocks as well. Though these advice seems to be profitable, but as we give it a deeper look tremendous number of questions arise in ones mind regarding loop holes and assumptions made by author.

Firstly, while explaining scenario author tells us that 80 percent respondents have participated in recent survey. Here, he fails to give detailed information regarding survey that was held. Recent survey is a very ambiguous term as it does not specifies any particular interval of time, how long survey was carried out. Also, he does not specifies number of respondent participating in survey? Where they from certain area? Where they of same ideology to oppose Old Dairy Industries? As such uninformative survey can not be accepted to make any conclusion.

Furthermore, author tells us that in survey respondents indicated desire to reduce intake of fat and cholesterol rich food and take alternative as low fat products. Here he made a very vague assumption that if a respondents tells about his desire, he will definitely follow it. There may be a case that, respondent is addicted to such kind of fat and cholesterol rich food that he may not be able to reduce it's consumption. There is also a possibility that if they are talking to reduce intake they just stop eating those food items and even not go for any low fat products. Thus, due to inadequate proofs and ambiguous statements made by author justification is unacceptable.

At last, author tells us that Old dairy industries market fat and cholesterol rich food products so they may face heavy reduction in sales and profit margin. On this statement we can arise multiple question such as Marketing some product means selling it as well? Do they sell only fat and cholesterol rich dairy products? Do there profit margin depends on only such type of products? If they see decline in profit will they not switch to low fat product as well? All these question proves ambiguity in author's statement.

Finally, we want to make an advice to author to provide with some proper survey details, more proofs and real life situations sufficient to make one confident to adopt his advice.