The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station."WWAC must change from its current rock-music format because the number of listeners has been declining, even though the population in our listening area has been growing. The population growth has resulted mainly from people moving to our area after their retirement, and we must make listeners of these new residents. But they seem to have limited interest in music: several local stores selling recorded music have recently closed. Therefore, just changing to another kind of music is not going to increase our audience. Instead, we should adopt a news-and-talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In memorandum, author explains the situation that WWAC radio station owners have decided to make a change from its current rock-music format to news and talk format. This is due to decline in listener number, even after increasing in population of listening area. He assumes that may be the listeners have some different choices. This argument is full of gaps and assumptions.

The author states that decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area. Here he assumes that all resident of such areas are radio listeners. But may be some people like to watch TV instead of radio or even do not have radio to listen. There is also possibility that residents may be listening to some other channel on radio that may seem to be more interesting to them. Population growth does not tells us that it is of which age group. It may be newborns. Thus, we are not at stage to accept this statement of author.

Furthermore, author tells us that WWAC radio station owners have decided to make change from its current rock-music format to news and talk format. This again is very inadequate assumption that on changing show format the listeners may increase. May be listeners also do not like to listen news or talk show. Author has not specified about any such survey that claims listeners like to such shows. This decision of owners is totally doubtful and totally based on assumption thus not acceptable.

Moreover, author while explaining decline in listeners with example says that, local sales of recorded music has declined. Now this is really a vague comparison. Sale of recorded music can not be compared with live radio show listeners, these two are different things. Also the decline of sales may be due to numerous other reasons such as expensive tapes, unavailability of tapes and many more. Thus, incomparable can not be compared in above statements.

Finally, we would like to advise WWAC radio station owners to rethink on there decision of changing current format may be it is not the exact reason for listeners decline. A thorough survey with proper statistical information is required to make such decisions.