The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"WWAC must change from its current rock-music format because the number of listeners has been declining, even though the population in our listening area has been growing. The population growth has resulted mainly from people moving to our area after their retirement, and we must make listeners of these new residents. But they seem to have limited interest in music: several local stores selling recorded music have recently closed. Therefore, just changing to another kind of music is not going to increase our audience. Instead, we should adopt a news-and-talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

A memorandum from the manger of WWAC radio station was sent stating that the radio station should opt for a news and talk format shows instead of its current rock-music. He defended his decision by stating that the number of listeners has been declining lately and the population in the area has grown to new retirees. However, before this argument can be properly evaluated three key questions must be addressed.

First of all, the manager of the station states that the number of listeners has been recently declining. If that is true, did the manager conduct a proper scientific survey before making the above statement? Furthermore, did he ask the proper questions when conducting the survey? If the manger is to base his judgment on the number of listeners that have stopped to listen to the radio station then that number has to be substantial and it has to reflect a potential number of the community. In addition, the surveyor has to provide us with the age group of the people being surveyed, and the list of question that were being asked to those groups. Once we are provided with such a survey can we make a claim that the statement that the number of listeners has declined might be plausible.

Secondly, when the manager states that several local stores selling recorded music have recently closed. The man jumps to the conclusion that these stores have closed for the sole reason that none of the current residents were interested in music records and as such the stores had to close. The question is did these stores close due to other problems that have nothing to do with the music business? The manager fails to provide us with sufficient information regarding the condition in which these stores operate; they might have closed due to an economic depression that has affected the area for the last ten years and they were bound to go bankrupt. Moreover, they might have been facing a decline in customer service for a five year period and as such their music storage was dwindling until they finally closed down. The ingenious statement that the stores closed solely for the reason that elderly are not interested in music is hyperbolic. The effect of of the elderly of these stores cannot be dramatic in such a short period of time and it needs at least a year to cause these stores to close their business. Hence, the argumnet of the manger is not cogent and cannot stand at this point.

Thirdly, he finally states that he will eliminate music and incorporate a talk show because it is popular in the area. Once gain the manager acts in a whimsical manner by jumping to conclusions without proper studies. If talk shows are popular in the area, they might not be popular with the new population. In addition, being an elderly does not mean that a person is dead and will not enjoy music, the youth is the the youth of the heart. The manger ought to revert again to a survey on order to have a conclusive answer to what does the community of this area want? He cannot make judgement based on presumptions.

Finally the statement as it stands now is flawed, because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above three questions and provide evidence then his argument would be more cogent and plausible.