An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument states that an international development organization, in response to a Vitamin A deficiency among people in the nation of Tagus, they have engineered a new breed of millet high in Vitamin A. This breed which will be distributed to the farmers and planted should solve the problem of Vitamin A deficiency in the nation. Before this recommendation can be properly evaluated and predicted it has to answer the following three keys questions.

First of all, the argument assumes that when planting the new engineering millet type the result will be a new product similar in nature, that is in looks and taste to the old millet, yet higher in Vitamin A. The question is did the company perform any sample studies whereby the nature of this millet was investigated and the end product was tested among the inhabitants of Tagus. The seeds ought to be tested for productivity, performance, interaction with the soil and finally tested for their taste and acceptance by the inhabitants of the nation. The criteria of the Vitamin A is crucial, yet the acceptance of the seed and the end product is more important as the organization might face rejection for the crops.

Second, the argument states that the farmers who belong to an impoverished state will be paid subsidies in order to opt for this new breed of millet. The question is, even if the farmers planted this new breed of millet in order to benefit from the subsidies; who said that they will consume it and opt for it. Maybe the only reason they opt for it was the money factor. The argument assumes that people in this nation will readily drop their own millet and opt for this type, which is a hypothetical situation and might not happen.

Moreover, did the organization do a survey among the inhabitants of this nation to ask their opinion regarding this question. the major question is what do they feel about changing the old millet which is a staple food in their daily lives with a new engineering product. With such a scientific survey a lot questions would have been answered and the process would have more dpogmatic.

Finally, the argument needs to answer the above questions to render it liable and cogent.