The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"WWAC must change from its current rock-music format because the number of listeners has been declining, even though the population in our listening area has been growing. The population growth has resulted mainly from people moving to our area after their retirement, and we must make listeners of these new residents. But they seem to have limited interest in music: several local stores selling recorded music have recently closed. Therefore, just changing to another kind of music is not going to increase our audience. Instead, we should adopt a news-and-talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The manager of WWAC radio station states that they are losing their popularity and to counter that, they must switch from rock music format to a news-and-talk format which is quite popular in their area. Author thinks that the decline in their radio station’s popularity is because of the increasing population of retired people who do not particularly seem to be inclined towards music since the local stores selling music have shut down recently. This argument and its corresponding recommendations can be accredited if the following three questions are answered.

First and foremost, is the decline in listeners due to the rock-music format of WWAC radio station? It could maybe because people are not finding time to listen to radio in their busy schedules, or it could be only temporary drop in listeners due to other factors like peak work or festive seasons, radio connectivity issues in the area or even a football season which would be broadcasted on the radio for next few weeks. A study on decline in rock music listeners on WWAC radio has to be performed over an extended period of time to answer this question.

Secondly, does the closing of local music record selling stores link directly to the radio station’s reduced popularity coming from the new residents who supposedly seem to have limited interest in music? It could be that the music record stores moved to a different locality because of other business-related reasons like cheaper land, easy access to storage housed and transport facilities. It is very much possible that the stores selling music were never selling rock genre and closed due to decline in the music lovers of other genres they were selling. Another possibility could be people using internet for listening to music which provides them instant access to numerous latest tracks at the click of a button.

Another question to be answered is if switching to news-and-talk kind of radio format actually bring more listeners? The author states that the mentioned format is increasingly popular in their area but that might not be true in their listening area. Perhaps, the people there do not like news-and-talk or it is even possible that the popularity increase is a false claim since there is no data supporting it.

Even if all the above questions are answered, the root cause of WWAC radio stations’ declining listener population has to be addressed. It could be because of overall radio station business’s downfall as the new age electronics and internet make their space in people’s life and nothing to do with the radio format. The new population might also not be linking WWAC’s content, quality or presenter’s skills. Radio station’s manager’s claim of switching to news-and-talk based on declining popularity is baseless and needs a lot more deep dive to decide the future form