As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

We have been surrounded by technology almost ever since the human beings started evaluating. The issue statement prompts that this tendency of relying on technology deteriorates our ability to think for ourselves. I strongly disagree with the statement made and would present three points that support my cause.

Firstly, using technology to solve trivial problems give humans more time to work on issues that help work for a larger cause. The coffee maker machine, the car you travel in, all of these help individuals take out more time. The same can be utilized to brainstorm on how to eradicate terrorism and establish world peace or even search for the source of cancer and it's treatment. Humans are still thinking and evolving while technology just helps create more time for focus topics.

Secondly, brains behing technology are humans too. More we rely of machines to complete our tasks, the more we use our brains. Cars of 1960's were as dumb as lab rats and when humans started using them more frequently for travel and gave up walking, the same humans started working towards enhancing the experience. The cars of 2000's drive themselves, park themselves and take decisions in split seconds where humans would fail to do it. No alien technology dropped to earth for implementing the same, it was people like me and you who brainstormed and created them as how they are.

Third and last point is the enhancement of creativity and ideation approach that humans take as technology advances. When the most trivial tasks and some requiring heavy humans physical efforts are performed by machines, we can focus solely on the most demanding topics that a machine itself can't perform. Example being the stem cell technology where a machine takes care of almost all the tasks but you still need a doctor to eradicate the bad cells from human body. Doctors and scientists are always finding new ways to establish that and we are really close to having the whole process automated which would improve human lives a save a lot too.

Although, someone migh argue that depending a lot of machines and technology will just make us lethargic and deteriorate our thinking capabilities, research studies show that humans are now using over 9% of their brains as compared to 3% used by primitive man. Hence it is even scientifically proved that human brain will keep evolving through the generations as we submerge ourselves more and more into this vast ocean of technology and start thinking in ways no one ever imagined doing earlier.