The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"WWAC must change from its current rock-music format because the number of listeners has been declining, even though the population in our listening area has been growing. The population growth has resulted mainly from people moving to our area after their retirement, and we must make listeners of these new residents. But they seem to have limited interest in music: several local stores selling recorded music have recently closed. Therefore, just changing to another kind of music is not going to increase our audience. Instead, we should adopt a news-and-talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station, he suggests the WWAC radio station to shift from their current rock-music format to a news-and-talk format, which he claims to be popular in that area. He assumes that this shift would result in an increase in their audience base. He makes this claims based on the fact that the locals of that area have a limited interest in music which was the reason for the local stores selling recorded music to be closed. Therefore, he suggests that changing the genre of music will not increase the number of listeners. This claim made by the manager is based on several unwarranted assumptions and in order to properly evaluate this argument, two questions need to be answered.

Firstly, the author assumes that the new residents of the area does not have any interest in music. He makes such an assumption based on the fact that the local stores selling recorded music have closed. However, there are many different possibilities that could have led to the decline in the number of listeners and to the closing of the stores. The author mentions that a large number of people have moved to that locality after retirement. But the author doesn't provide any evidence that describes their interest in music. It is possible that those new residents are interested in classical music than rock music. It is possible that the local stores were selling only rock music and this could have led to the closing of such stores. Therefore, there isn't sufficient evidence to prove that the locals in that area lack interest in music. If the above mentioned scenario is given merit, then it would significantly weaken the author's argument.

Furthermore, the author recommends the WWAC radio station to adopt a news-and-talk format to increase their audience base. The author claims this format is increasingly popular in that area. But, there is an important question that need to be answered to properly evaluate his claim: How does the author arrive at the conclusion that news-and-talk format is popular in that area? There are no evidences provided by the author to support this claim. For instance, was a survey conducted among the locals over their preferences? Or, is there any other radio station in that area that is successful by adopting the suggested format? If yes, adopting the same format would be repetitive and this would not guarantee an increase in audience base. Providing evidences to the above mentioned questions can strengthen the author's argument.

In conclusion, the argument made by the author heavily rests on unwarranted assumptions and providing evidence to the above mentioned questions can help evaluate the argument in a better manner.