To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Understanding a society would involve studying about its culture, tradition and how it has evolved over the years. Although their are some differences in the culture among the cities, the basic principles are common to all of them. Therefore, I mostly disagree with the given statement mainly for two reasons. However, to understand the current trends and to get an insight about how a culture would turn out to be in the future it would be important to study about its major cities.

Firstly, people who are a from a specific society would more or less possess the same kind of culture. Irrespective of the place a person lives in, it could be either a small town or a major city, everyone are taught about their culture right from their childhood. They study about their culture in schools through their regional literature books, which primarily would deal with the culture and tradition of that community. Children are also taught about their culture by their parents and try to enforce the traditions over their children. Therefore, the basic ideology about their culture gets inculcated in their minds. Hence, when the child grows these ideologies might get altered but the most important characteristics remain unchanged. Therefore, in order to understand about a society studying the natives would give a better understanding irrespective of the place they live in.

Secondly, most people who live in major cities are people who have migrated form small towns. Therefore, the carry along their culture along with them wherever they go. In fact, most of the traditions that are followed by a society originated in places which are no longer present in maps of the place. A once major city might not exist today. But, the culture originated from that city would still exist. Therefore, to get a comprehensive understanding about a culture it is mandatory that a person studies about the all kinds of places in that society