To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the current era of unevenly technology advancement and wealth resources, some cities are ahead of others in becoming the core and even the symbol of a country. This kind of major cities play an important role in a country undoubtedly.They dominate the direction of its economy and politics,and even the culture of the society would also be affected.The speaker suggests that the major cities must be research objects for understanding the most essential features of a society. In my view, this statement is too extreme.It overrates the representativeness of the major cities, as well as ignoring the influence of other areas on the society.Thus I totally disagree with the proposition that would reflect a too narrow view of social characteristics and the selection of regions.

Admittedly, to some extent, major cities can represent a country or even society’s characteristics. This kind of cities are usually the most prosperous regions in a society,which may have influence in the whole society. For example, the designers in London have a preference in the pattern in plaid form, and this could become the distinctive feature of Britain gradually.In addition,many people across the country are inclined to move to the cities. As a result, the integration of various cultures has thus generated the characteristics of the cities, which can indeed represent the characteristics of the entire society.

However, the representativeness has been gradually fading due to the increase of the globalization.Thus, the main cities in each country have the tendency of homogenization with the loss of the uniqueness. Moreover, in some countries especially the developing countries, the level of development in the different areas has obvious disparity resulting in special cases for a society the major cities have become. The boom of some first-tier cities in China such as Beijing,Shanghai and Guangzhou can not illustrate the economy of China is well-developed.In fact, the economy in some rural areas is still below the average level.

As a matter of fact that the major cities are no longer representative, it could be difficult to learn about the society through investigating the situation of the main cities merely.Meanwhile,different countries have different conditions,which means It is very important to select the appropriate object according to the actual situation.The main cities in the developed countries might still have a strong representativeness of social features while those in the developing countries may not.Due to the uneven economic level development between different regions in developing countries, the social culture and living habits are also different.

To sum up, the study of major cities is not comprehensive and profound enough in the cognition of social characteristics.Undoubtedly,the study of the major cities would be helpful to do the research.However,to gain a better understanding of a society, we must pay attention to both the main cities and other areas like small cities and rural areas.