The following appeared in a business magazine.

‘As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded that the canned tuna did not, after all, pose a health risk. This conclusion is based on tests performed on samples of the recalled cans by chemists from Promofoods; the chemists found that of the eight food chemicals most commonly blamed for causing symptoms of dizziness and nausea, five were not found in any of the tested cans. The chemists did find small amounts of the three remaining suspected chemicals but pointed out that these occur naturally in all canned foods.’

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

The above article claims that the Promofoods tuna does not lead to dizzy or nausea based on their testing results from recalled samples. That claim is based on the evidence that, among the eight chemicals commonly being related to health risks, chemists from Promofoods stated five of them were not found from sample cans, and the rest three, existing ubiquitously in canned foods, only presented in small amounts. However, this essay is going to argue that three more questions need to be answered before they can draw their desired conclusion that Promofoods tuna is irrelevant to dizziness and nausea.

First of all, the question of whether the recalled samples are representative needs to be addressed. If, for example, only the tuna cans from the UK has been recalled, whereas it is the products in the Chinese market which causes the problem, then the testing result would incorrectly exonerate Promofoods. On the other hand, if the sample being recalled is a random sample containing products from various regions of the globe, then the testing result can be more plausible.

The second question worth asking is that, apart from the eight most common chemicals, whether there is any other chemicals leading to dizziness and nausea. In fact, since it is impossible to exclude the existence of unknown chemicals rising health concerns, the testing methodology seems problematic. It is preferable if the chemists can examine the composition of Promofoods tuna and assess the potential health risks of every containing chemicals. In that way, they are more likely to spot the unique or uncommon chemicals causing health issues, of

any. However, if after a thorough assessment, the conclusion remains, the claim that Promofoods is the wrong product to complain seems reasonable.

Last but not least, a significant question remains to be the position and attitude of the chemists. Although the conduction of scientific research asserts to be neutral, it is inevitable to be affected by personal biases in reality, unfortunately. This also explains the typical deed of recruiting an external scientist to accomplish the quality test. However, since the test is conducted by chemists working at Promofoods, the neutrality of those chemists remains to be questionable. This is not accusing them for deliberately drawing false conclusions, but the confidence to Promofoods might lead to overoptimistic assumptions at some stage of the experiment, for instance. Therefore, if the inherent human bias significantly affect the test result, Promofoods tuna might be the genuine factor leading to dizziness and nausea.

In conclusion, this essay has argued that three questions need to be asked before concluding that Promofoods tuna is not related to people’s dizziness and nausea. Explicitly, the representativeness of the recalled sample, the non-existence of unknown harmful chemicals, and the neutrality of chemists. Only if positive answers can be given to all of these questions can the innocence of Promofoods tuna be more plausible.