The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. [Specific Task Instruction: Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.]

There has always been heated discussions about the best way to prepare teenagers to be future leaders. Some people argue that a sense of cooperation should be instilled in young people, as that's the crucial skill demanded when working in the government. While, others claim that competition, rather than cooperation, is more essential. This essay is going to argue that, to a large extent, cooperation, instead of competition, should be accentuated to young people.

First and foremost, the ultimate goal for politicians to work in the government should be providing better service to the public. In this sense, people should see each other as commaderies rather than rivals, and thus they need to cooperate, instead of compete, with each other. However, some people might argue that people need to win the general election beforehand to enter the government. For this reason, they suppose that competition is the fundamental skill needed. Nevertheless, there are numerous examples demonstrating that even if people lost in the election, they can still serve the country by cooperating with the winner. For example, Obama asked his rival to visit other countries on behalf of him several times.

Secondly, modern government is an extremely complicated organisation which requires a variety of expertise. However, it is not possible for a single person to have knowledge of everything, and that necessitate the cooperation between people from different areas. For example, economists needs to work together with mathematicians and statisticians to estimate the market prices and demands, and hence implement policies accordingly. On the other hand, if the presidents view everyone else as enemies and only listen to himself, then he would have to make policies blindly. That would lead to calamity of society.

However, in certain circumstances, the sense of competition might also be useful. One such occasions would be when the country is facing external threats or attacks. In this case, governors need to know the strategies to compete with others, simply seeking cooperation with other countries can be useless in this case. Nevertheless, in modern society, wars between countries can be rare, and thus the encouragement of cooperation should be prioritised.

To summarize, this essay has argued that, to a large extent, young people should be installed a sense of cooperation, instead of competition, to work better in the government. That is because the utmost aim for politicians should be to serve the country better instead of compete with each other. What's more, the function of the government also requires people with different expertise to work collaboratively. However, when the country is facing serious external hazards, a sense of competition can also be helpful. Further discussions could be conducted on how to balance the senses of cooperation and competition, so that teenagers can be better prepared to be future leaders.