Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author is claiming one can understand the characteristics of a society by taking look at its men or women who are treated as heroes or role models as they represent the highest ideals of the society. However, there are many reasons that people shouldn’t examine a society by only targeting at its heroes.

The heroes may not represent the society as they only play a role as a savior, who did something which are beneficial to the society or its people, and they do not hold the “highest value” of the society. Fireman, who saves citizens’ life, can be entitled as hero, but their characteristics vary a lot, and thus could not represent the society. If we examine their character, we will only understand their personality instead of the society’s character.

There are many features in a society that cannot be represented by people. If we want to study culture, it’s necessary for us to either read the literature or study the history and tradition; all of which are incorporated in physical substances such as books, drawings, and buildings. People can hardly learn culture from a person’s character, so we’d better not to learn a society by examining its heroes or role models.

Finally, besides some of role models, there are other wise people who can also represent the highest value of the society. It’s necessary to examine all of these people when studying a society. People who have brilliant achievement in different area may also hold the highest value. For example, an expert in anthropology, who conduct studies related to the hierarchy of a country, may have the characteristic of being respectful as he understands that different treatments toward people of different races would influence their life. In this case, we need to study the expert’s character, and thus we know that there are racial discrimination issues exist in the society, which is also a character of the society.

For the above three reasons, people should know that examining heroes or role models can help study some parts of a society’s character, but we also need to take a look at other people who achieve in different areas, and other none-person features that could represent the society to have an all-around understanding of the society.