A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The prediction and the argument are that the number of suffering headaches of residents of Mentia will decline in the future based on a recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia, which has shown the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. The author indicates that salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, so salicylates might have the same effect as aspirin to treat headaches. Also, the twenty-year study proves a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches, and food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. However, there are several questions needed to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument are reasonable.

To begin with, the question needed is whether the effects on salicylates and aspirin are the same. Although salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches, chemicals are complex and they might have different effects, therefore evidence to reveal that salicylates and aspirin have the same effect is needed as the answer to the question in order to explain the prediction is proper.

Secondly, another question needed to be asked is about the twenty-year study, like is this experiment representative or are the designs of the experiment reasonable including the control group and the experimental group. Because only the reliable data or the results of the experiment could support the prediction. If the twenty-year study cannot attain the question, the prediction of residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future would fail.

Finally, the last question needed to answer is whether can salicylates achieve the possible therapeutic effect as flavor additives for foods. Since during the food-processing, various elements would be added, and some elements might cause salicylates to lose efficacy, which might not be useful and effective to decline the number of headaches. As a result, evidence about salicylates would have the same effect as flavor additives are needed.In conclusion, three questions should be asked and answered in order to ensure the prediction and argument, that the number of residents of Mentia will suffer fewer headaches in the future after using salicylates, be reasonable. The first one is whether salicylates have the same effects as aspirin. The second one is whether the twenty-year study is proper and reliable to make the conclusion. The third one is whether salicylates have the possible therapeutic effect as flavor additives.