The following appeared as an editorial in a local newspaper."In order to attract visitors to Central Plaza downtown and to return the plaza to its former glory(5), the city should prohibit skateboarding there and instead allow skateboarders to use an area in Monroe Park(2). At Central Plaza, skateboard users are about the only people one sees now, and litter and defaced property have made the plaza unattractive(1). In a recent survey of downtown merchants(3), the majority supported a prohibition on skateboarding in the plaza. Clearly, banning skateboarding in Central Plaza will make the area a place where people can congregate for fun or for relaxation(4,6)."

The editorial recommends that prohibiting skateboarding in Central Plaza will make the downtown a good place where people can congregrate for fun or for relaxation.The editorial reasons that activities of skateboarders would result in litter and defaced property in Central Plaza. To support the claim the editorial also cites a recent survey which points out the prohibition was supported by most downtown merchants. The argument is not entirely convincing for the following reasons.

First and foremost, assuming that the current situation of the plaza was in fact due to the presence of skateboarders there, the editorial overlooks the possibility that unattractive surroundings of the plaza had nothing to do with that skateboarders. Perhaps the plaza recently became less popular than before due to the lack of optional facilities in Central Plaza. Either scenario, if true, would serve to undermine the editorial’s claim that the current situation of the plaza is attributed to the presence of skateboarders .

Secondly, the survey was based on the data from downtown merchants. But the editorial provides no evidence that the survey’s respondents are representative of all citizens in Central Plaza. Lacking such evidence, it is entirely possible that the merchants inclined to make use of more spaces to do business and make profits were more willing to respond to the survey positively than other people were.

Thirdly, the editorial recommends to allow skateboarders to use an area in Monroe Park as a remedy for them due to the prohibition.Even though it seems that this method reasonably gives skateboarders certain spaces for playing, there may be some negative impacts of allowing skateboarders to use part of Monroe Park. For example, all the skateboarders would only play in the part of the park,which would still produce litter and destruction for property there.Thus this method might not solve the problem throughoutly.

Finally, the editorial also indicates that skateboarding has an negative impact on the amusement of the plaza.But it may actually be helpful for achieving the city's objective of providing a fun and relaxing place for people to congregate.For instance, skateboarding is a sports which is very popular with young people,so the promotion and support of this sports would create a relaxing and delightful atmosphere of the plaza

In conclusion, the recommendation for banning skateboarding is not well supported. To convince that the prohibition would attract visitors to the plaza for fun and for relaxation, the editorial must demonstrate a correlation between presence of skateboarders and unattractive environment of the plaza, downtown merchants could represent the overall group of all citizens. In addition, there is a need to improve the alternative for skateboarders.