The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend - the city-run public schools - comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools - even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do. "

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The letter’s author recommends that Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do. The author reasons that Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public school. To support this recommendation the author points out that the city-run public schools come from taxes that each city government collects and both cities have about the same number of residents. There are several reasons why this argument for Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do is not convincing.

First of all, although Blue City spent less money than Parson City for its public school, their educational system may already be more complete than Blue City’s. Thus, schools in Blue City did not need extra money to complete their system.

Secondly, the author’s study was not comprehensive. The author mentioned that Parson City has recently spent more money than Blue City on their public school, which means the data was collected only in recent years. However, Blue City may spend more than Parson City for their public school in the previous year and the author did not mention.

Finally, Blue City’s less spending on their public school may not be attributed to they place less value school but rather to other factors, such as the number of students. The author mentioned that both cities have about the same number of residents, but the student number may be different. Students in Blue City may less than Parson City so that they do not need to spend the same as Parson City did on education.

In conclusion, the author’s argument that Parson City places a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City is not well supported. The author could strengthen the argument by providing more reliable evidence of a comprehensive study of both two cities.