The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues that it is a mistake that using Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany since eight years ago when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the laid off workers found jobs within a year at that time. Besides, the author declares that Delany is clearly superior as evidenced by its bigger staff and a larger number of branch offices, and Delany’s clients took an advantage of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh’s clients took nine last year. However, there is more evidence needed to strengthen the argument.

First of all, the evidence of the working situations and hiring marketing of eight years and present is needed to support the evidence. Although when XYZ was using Walsh eight years ago, only half of the workers laid off at that time found within a year, the situation may be different nowadays since there might be an economic depression eight years ago, which was difficult to find a new job. Therefore, more evidence of the market situation of today and right years ago is needed to prove that Walsh did not do well recently.

In addition, the evidence of the superior conditions of Delany is helpful for XYZ company is needed. Although the author indicates that Delany is clearly superior because of its bigger staff and the larger number of branch offices. There might be a situation where those superior staff and greater facilities do not work well, instead those workers strive to find a job. Besides, the description of the company situation of Walsh should be needed since the author does not mention anything about it, thus the comparison between the two companies lacks evidence to support the argument.

Finally, although the author illustrates that Delany’s clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh’s clients took nine, the evidence of these two groups of clients’ information and situation should be provided because maybe most of Walsh’s clients were not in such a hurry to find a new job, instead they took a rest for about three or four months, the overall time took longer, not the period of finding a new job. Therefore, the same background of clients

from the two companies should be provided to strengthen the argument in order to have a fair comparison.

In general, in order to support the argument that it is incorrect to using Walsh instead of Delany, various evidence should be provided, containing the market or hiring situation in present and eight years ago, the fancy facilities of Delany exact generate positive influences and the same background of clients in Walsh and Delany in order to keep a fair comparison.