The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company When XYZ lays off employees it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating r sum s and developing interviewing skills if they so desire Laid off employees have benefited gr

In the memo at XYZ company, the author concludes that the company should stick to working with Delany Personnel Firm instead of switching to the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in order to assist its laid-off employees in creating a resume and developing interview skills. The writer reaches this conclusion based on the previous not-well-satisfied experience of the company with Walsh Personnel Firm and some evident superiorities Delany maintain over Walsh. Nonetheless, while the conclusion drawn by the writer might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that Walsh Personnel Firm has not improved in recent eight years. It probable that Walsh company has been improved over the last years, and because it has innumerable clients, they offer the same service far cheaper than Delany does. Moreover, maybe other companies eight years ago did not have much trust in clients who were introduced to them by Walsh company since Walsh was not reputable at that time. If either of these scenarios has merit, the author's assertion that Walsh company's inability to find a job for the laid-off workers eight years ago indicates that this company is inferior to Dleany is significantly hampered.

Secondly, the author must provide information regarding the number of workers that currently use Delany and the proportion of them who found a new job. Also, the number of workers who used Wlash eight years ago and its corresponding proportion of workers who found a job. Maybe eight years ago, the number of 1000 workers used Walsh, and half of them, which equals to 500 could find a job within the year. On the other hand, currently, 100 workers use Delany, and 25 of them are able to find a job with even less than six months. If this is true, both the finding job rate and the number of workers trusting Walsh are greater than Delany. The argument does not hold water if the above is true.

Finally, the author must provide evidence about the clients of Walsh and Delany companies. It is probable that Walsh company accept clients not having very strong resume as well as those having strong resumes. This results in a relatively higher average time per person to find a job. However, Delany only admits clients who have a very powerful resume to ensure that they will find a job for them as soon as possible. If the author could find a client that uses both Walsh and Delany companies, he or she can provide more valid data to compare these two companies. If it is true that Delany company only accept clients with a strong resume, but Walsh company accept any clients with any level of knowledge or experience, the credibility of the author's claim decreases substantially.

To recapitulate, it is possible that if XYZ company continue its cooperation with Delany company, it will make sure that its laid-off client will find a job at an appropriate time after being laid off. Nevertheless, as it stands now, the argument relies on several groundless assumptions, three of which are mentioned above.