The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

The argument presented in the memo at XYZ company for finding a new job using a service company like Delany and Walsh for laying off employees is provided. The argument has relied on a few unwarranted assumptions. In order to prove its credibility author has to provide an answer to the following three questions.

Firstly, the author mentioned that the last year those employees who used Delany's services found a job more quickly than those who did not take these services. The author relied on assumption that there is only way to find a quick job is to join Delany's services. However, it might happen that those employees who got a job using Delany's service might have a very strong skillset and outstanding resume hence they got a new job quickly. Therefore, the author's assumption does not hold water.

Secondly, the author provided evidence from eight years back when XYZ used Walsh service which result in only half of the laid workers finding jobs. It is not a correct way of comparing the current circumstance with the eight years back. Many changes happened in technology and marketplaces. There may be a chance that the Walsh services improved their quality of services nowadays. Hence, this comparison stands null and void.

Moreover, the author assumed that the service company should have a bigger staff and a larger number of branches in order to provide quality services. But, the author needs to check whether this bigger staff is more productive than Wash's staff or not, in order to bolster his opinion.

In Conclusion, the memo depends on some unwarranted assumptions. So, the writer needs to find an answer to the above three questions for choosing the best service company from the two mentioned companies.