The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation mentioned in the prompt from the manager of Monarch Books is to open its own cafe in place of the children's books compartment in his bookstore. The argument provided by the manager is based on some unwarranted assumptions. In order to bolster his opinion manager has to provide the following three evidences.

To start with, the manager of Monarch Books assumed that the new emerging competent in Collegeville with a combination of bookstore and coffee shop would result in a decline in customers of Monarch Books. But, Monarch cafe already has a huge customer base who love to read books in the atmosphere that Monarch provides. So, there is very less chance that people will visit the newly opened bookstore. Till today, people are loving Monarch Books without even complaining about a cup of coffee. So, the author's opinion stands null and void.

Secondly, the author's opinion of replacing children's books relied more on the recent census data. So, the manager of Monarch cafe firstly should validate these census data. As census data is developed at a national level, the manager should find out the exact reduction of the population for a specific area like Collegeville. There should exist consideration of current child customers of the bookstore. There may be a condition that the people might migrate from other states to Collegeville which has a more percentage of children. Hence, the writer's argument does not hold water.

Moreover, the manager assumes that opening of cafe cum bookstore will increase profit and ward off competition from Book and Bean. This might not happen. So, the manager needs to find a new way of attracting new customers and retaining old customers using some offers or creating a digital platform, where people can easily read more books with a delightful atmosphere.

In conclusion, the manager should provide the above three pieces of evidence in order to bolster his recommendation.