The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large

customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all

subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced

its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in

the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating

a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's

books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch

Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

Monarch Books' manager has suggested that Monarch Books, which is a store that is majorly into book sales, should consider including coffee in its business because of the advent of a rival store, Book and Bean. While this is might eventually prove to be gainful for Monarch Books, the argument fails to prove this. This is because the bases, which are as a result undue analogy, unjustifiable assumptions and illogical reasonings, all impairs the claim of the manager.

While citing Book and Bean, which is a synthesis of bookstore and coffee shop, as an imminent threat to Monarch’s sales, the manager assumes that Book and Bean is largely into book sales. This might not even be the case. Book and Bean might be majorly into coffee. This store might only be offering books to customer who prefers to stay a bit while taking their coffee. In fact, it is possible that their book section is not as comprehensive as Monarch’s store. To validate this argument, the author needs to prove that the Book and Bean’s book section is largely into book sales and it is as cosmic as Monarch store.

Also, while making reference to a nationwide statistics about the decline of children under the age of ten, the author assumes Collegeville is also facing the same enigma. As a matter of fact, the opposite might be the case. Collegeville might actually be experiencing a steady increase in the demography of under-ten students. Hence, shutting down the children’s section of Monarch book store might be perilous. To improve this argument, the author needs to show that truly, the nationwide census reflects the current trend in Collegeville. Through this, the author would be able to ratiocinate if closing the children section is justifiable or not.

Lastly, quoting the success of Book and Bean in other town, the author assumes Collegeville denizens have propensity for coffee. This assumption might erroneous. This is because Book and Bean, which might is purported to be successful, might be flourishing because of its town’s proclivity for coffee. This also implies that Book and Bean might founders if it is opened in Collegeville. The author also failed to consider the presence of other coffee store in the town which might actually cause the proposed coffee section in Monarch to fail tremendously. Hence, the author need to consider its clients’ choice before opening a coffee section.

In conclusion, the manager of Monarch’s book had shown his interest in the store’s growth by suggesting the opening of a coffee section. While this might sound great, the manager’s bases all debilitates his contention. Therefore, the manager needs to meticulously consider other alternative exegesis for his bases before the store acts on his suggestion. With this consideration, Monarch books will be able to consider if opening a coffee store might be beneficial or detrimental.