Claim: Though often considered an objective pursuit, learning about the historical past requires creativity.

Reason: Because we can never know the past directly, we must reconstruct it by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts, documents, and artifacts.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which the claim is based.

Does learning about the past require creativity? Can the past be learnt by imaginatively interpreting historical accounts, documents and artifacts? While some people believe that since the past can’t be know directly, researchers must reconstruct it by intuitively interpreting historical documents and artifacts. On the other hand, some believe historical past does not require creativity, all that needs to be done is more research to reveal more obscured events, things or knowledge of the past. However, while further research is needed to know more about the past, in some cases, imaginatively interpreting historical artifacts, documents and accounts is required to connect the missing dots.

History researchers around the world carry out their researches based on evidences they find such as past accounts, documents an artifacts. Most times, some pieces of these documents are missing and in order to fully understand the story the document conceal, researchers must conduct further research. Reseaches carried out on ancient story of Egypt is a typical example of these. Most of the earlier found documents about Egyptian corpse buried beneath the pyramids are fraught with obscured informations. Not until further researches were carried out before the true story of ancient Egypts were known.

Apart from researchers carrying out further researches, in cases where no further evidences are found, intuitively determining some information in historical records is needed to connect the stories together. Also, researched historical records most times contain alcove that needs to be filled by not only futher research but imagination. For instance, during the research on Pharoahs of Egypt, researchers never found all the pieces of documents, artifacts and accounts that could reveal the whole life of the past Pharoahs. Rather, through imaginations, these researchers were able to fill the niches in the story and to make the story a gamut.

Although, some might contend that learning about historical past does not require creativity. Some might quibble further by saying reconstructing historical past by imaginatively interpreting historical records birth false stories because these stories have no strong backing. This is true to some extent. But in most cases, when further researches are carried out, these assumed false stories are either refuted or corroborated. Moreover, reconstructing these records by imagination some times provides researchers with ideas of where next to conduct research.

In summary, learning about historical past requires creativity by imaginatively interpreting the historical records, accounts and documents. However, before immaginatively connecting historical accounts, further researches must be conducted to determine if more esoteric facts can exhumed. If it is then seen that these esoteric facts cannot be revealed by further research, reseachers should creatively interprete these records. Moreso, further researches can be done by other researchers later in future to either substantiate the present research or undermine them. With this, more obscured facts will be revealed.