Claim: No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self interest.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Are there no act done for the benefit of others? Are all actions basedd on self interest? Some believe actions done for other people are simply based on self interest while some believe some actions are done purely for the benefit of others without the doer’s self interest. Although some actions are done based on self interest, there are actions done purely for the benefit of others.

Charity is the act of giving to less priviledged either by kind or by act. Some people or organizations give out charity, not because of their self interest but simply to help the less priviledged. A typical example of charity is offering relief packages to the orphanage homes or internally displaced people in a war zone. Some people anonymously carry out these act just help relieve the affected community. An example of this was during the last flooding that hit some parts of America in 2016. It was recorded that people from around the world donated millions to help save affected people. The donors gained nothing from giving out of their hard earned money to the needy but the needy benefits mostly out of the act. Another example include John D. Rockefella giving out his wealth in his octogenerian days to schools and orphanage homes. These act is done purely for the benefit of others and not for himself.

Furthermore, the act of volunteering is an act that is mostly done for the benefit of others. Volunteering is an act done based on one’s volition. This act is mostly beneficial to the people the act are done for and not the doer. During the last flooding that hit America in 2016, volunteers were seen salvaging lives and properties. These volunteers did not based their act on self interest such as to be recognised among those who saved lives during the pandemic but these volunteers volunteered because of the empathy they had for the displaced people. Another example is volunteers that contribute to making the earth green again in other to curb climate change. These volunteers are likely not to benefit from these act that will surely be of benefit to progeny.

True, some people might argue that some act are based on one’s interest such as good governance. Some might quibble further by saying the government that are recognised as good government are as a result of the government wanting to make name for itself. This is true to some extent. However, history is fraught with several events of good governance where the government are less concerned about their gain but these government performed just to help the masses. For instance, Abraham Lincoln is considered the greatest president United State ever had. This is because of the effect his government had on people. Another example is the government of Theodore Roosevelt. Theodore Roosevelt prosecuted the monopolists that were drying up America’s economy. These acts are not for the benefits of the government but the masses.

In conclusion, some act are done solely for the benefit of others. Actions such as charity, volunteering and good governance are done for the benefit of others where doer gain little to nothing most times. However, some actions tend to have positive effect on the doer such as making the doer publicly recognised, but most of these act’s benefit are gained by others and not the doer. Ergo, to make the earth conducive for both the rich and the poor, actions that are of benefit to the society should be mostly embarked upon.