According to an independent poll of 200 charitable organizations, overall donations of

money to nonprofit groups increased last year, but educational institutions did not fare as well as other organizations. Donations to international aid groups increased the most (30

percent), followed by donations to environmental groups (23 percent), whereas donations

to educational institutions actually decreased slightly (3 percent). Meanwhile, all of the

major economic indicators suggest that consumer spending is higher than average this

year, showing that potential donors have ample disposable income. Therefore, the clearest

explanation for the decline in donations to educational institutions is that people actually

value education less than they did in the past.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that

could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can

plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument that people value education less than they did in the past may seem logical at first glance given several claims used in bolstering the argument. However, these claims are not sufficient enough to conclude that people actually value education less than they did in the past. However, in order for this argument to be valid, some alternative explanations need to be taken into consideration.

First and foremost, the author fails to present the amount of nonprofit groups surveyed and the amount of educational institution surveyed. With the points made in the argument, it is seen that the author assumes that an equal amount of nonprofit group and educational institution are polled. However, there is no evidence in the argument to support the author’s assumption. Perhaps, it is possible that more nonprofit groups are polled and educational institution which led to the result of less educational institution receiving donation.

Secondly, the writer failed to provide the real values behind the percent figures in the argument. The argument states that donation to international aid groups increased the most by 30 percent and donation to environmental groups increased by 23 percent. Without the real numbers, these values are insubstantiate. For example, if the initial value of these donations are meagre amount, then these percent increase will yield insignificant amount as well. On the other hand, if these donations’ initial amount are prodigious, then the claim made in the argument will be valid.

Thirdly, the author refuse to equate the suggestion of economic indicators that consumer spending is higher, to potential donors having ample disposable income. It is seen in the argument that there is no evidence showing that these potential donors are also the ones refered to as consumers by the economic indicators. Moreover, these donors might be minute part the consumers that is refered to by the economic indicator. Thus, in order to bolster the claim in this argument, the author needs to show the correlation between the indication that consumer spending is higher, and the fact potential donors have copious disposable income.

However, the author could strenthen the argument by presenting the amount of nonprofit groups and educational institution polled. This will resolve the discrepancy of the punctilious amount of nonprofit group polled and educational institution surveyed and will create a lucid view of which organizations receive most donations. Also, the author needs to provide the real values behind the percent figures as these values will indicate the precise change in the increase or decrease in donation. Additionally, the writer needs to provide evidence that the potential donors have ample disposable income as basing this claim only on the suggestion of economic indicator is incongruous.

In conclusion, the argument that people value education less than they did in the past neglects numerous alternative explanation that could seriously debilitates or improve its validity. Unless these alternative explanations are taken into consideration, the argument totally falls apart. Thus, assuming that people valued education less than they did in the past might a major mistake.