According to an independent poll of 200 charitable organizations, overall donations of money to nonprofit groups increased last year, but educational institutions did not fare as well as other organizations. Donations to international aid groups increased the most (30 percent), followed by donations to environmental groups (23 percent), whereas donations to educational institutions actually decreased slightly (3 percent). Meanwhile, all of the major economical indicators suggest that consumer spending is higher than average this year, showing that potential donors have ample disposable income. Therefore, the clearest explanation for the decline in donations to educational institutions is that people actually value education less than they did in the past.

The author claims that people value education less than they did in the past because donations to educational institutions decreased slightly while donations to other groups are increased and base on fact that potential donors have ample disposable income. He or she offers an interesting argument, but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that should discourage us concluding that people do not value education as they did in the past.

To begin with, consider the independent poll of 200 charitable organizations. The author mentions that poll results decrease in donations to educational institutions and increase in donations to other groups such as international aid groups, environmental groups. Yet there is no reason to believe that 200 charitable organizations explain the whole. The organizations that participate to independent polls could be biased. The organizations actually might be where most of donors are for environmental or international aid groups originally. There might be charitable organization which is omitted and where primary donations are for educational institutions. Therefore without confirmation that 200 charitable organizations can successfully explain the whole, or access to independent poll of all organizations, we cannot conclude whether people regard education important or not comparing to the past.

Though, let us assume that the organizations can be generalized successfully. Then we are prompted to ask whether the decrease in donations to educational groups really means that people do not consider education as important matters or not. The author assumes that decrease in donations implies decrease in people's appreciation. However there are many factors that can affect the amount of donations. For example, people may not donate a lot just because of lack of educational group's marketing. Or there might be scandal such as hiding donation among educational groups that discourage the donors donating. Finally people may think that educational does not need many donation because they think providing education does not require lots of fund. Likewise it is hasty to determine that people do not value education less because there are many other possible scenarios that can explain donation's decline.

Finally, the author presents comparison to donations occurred last year as evidence to his or her claim. However comparison to only last year could be misleading. What if donations to educational groups was unexceptionally large in last year? For example, rich celebrity such as Bill Gates, Lebron James, etc might donate tremendous bills to educational groups last year. General people might donate more than last year to educations. We need not only last year record but more prolonged record to compare properly.

To sum, the author's assumption that people consider education less significantly as last year is logically flawed based on the above mentioned reason, To strengthen his or her argument, the author should closely examine all the conditions and possible factors. In conclusion, the author's argument reflects unsupported claims without clear reasons or evidence.