"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author claims that customers of Happy Pancake House do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter of margarine because only 2 percent of them have complained. He or she offers an interesting argument, but it suffers from some logical flaws and gaps in evidence. While connections suggested are reasonable, there are many other possible scenarios that should discourage the author from being sure.

To begin with, the author assumes that customers are happy with the change because few of them have complained. Yet it is not logical to believe that rest of 98 percent of customers were happy with being provided margarine instead of butter. Many customers might be reluctant to waste his or her time complaining the problem even though they do not favor margarine. Or they might hesitate to make servers being abashed by complaining. What is more, the authors offers no detailed information about total customers considered when calculating the proportion of complains. Were only customers who are served margarine counted to calculate the proportion? Or were total customers of Happy Pancake House restaurants counted? If latter is applicable, the restaurants might have had a small proportion of foods that contain butter and most of customers who were served margarine had actually complained about the problem. Therefore without detailed information about who was considered when calculating the proportion and customer's truth feeling, we cannot conclude that most of the customers were happy with the change.

Secondly the author assumes that the customers can not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to indicate butter and margarine because of the server's report that few of the customers do not complain. Yet there is no reason to believe that server always state true. They might change truth because of anxiety of being punished. Or they might just flatter by hiding the truth. We need more precise data other than just server's comments to conclude that the customers can not differentiate the margarine from butter.

Let us assume, though, that servers actually say the truth. Then we are prompted to ask why customers did not complain. Is it because they cannot discriminate butter? Or is it because they prefer margarine than butter? The customers might not complain not because they did not discern the margarine but because they were satisfied with the change. Or they might hesitate to complain and choose other options such as not re-visiting the restaurants. Therefore it is illogical to believe that customers can not differ margarine from butter just because they do not complain usually.

To sum, the author's assumption that the customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they us the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine is logically flawed based on the above assumptions. To strengthen his or her argument, the author should closely examine all the conditions and other factors. In conclusion, the author's argument reflects unsupported claims without clear reasons or evidence.