To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Public official usually represents the nation and therefore people expect highest ethical and moral standards to these officials. To be an effective public officials, they should be supported by citizens and I admit that high ethical and moral standards are crucial to be upheld by citizens. However I disagree with the claim that the only way to be an effective leader is to maintain the highest moral standards in that when evaluating an leader's effectiveness, achievements are also important factor and demanding high moral standards can hamper official's innovation.

Some people argue that leaders without high moral standards are likely to be corrupt and therefore are unlikely to be trusted by citizens which is essential to manage the group efficiently. However it seems like people discriminate between public misbehavior and private misbehavior and give credence to leaders even though he/had misconducts in private sector. For example, let us consider Nixon one of the former United States president. Watergate Scandal, recording and intruding to other candidate's office illegally to hamper other party, was committed by Nixon and it astonished citizens. In no surprise, he lose citizen's trust and had to relinquish his president status forcefully and failed to be an effective leader. However, Bill Clinton had stepped down his president seat with the highest supported ratio even though he had sordid relationship with Lewinsky because he had managed United States safely and efficiently. Likewise people do not always discredit improper leader. They sometimes regard leader as effective even if he/she misbehaves in private sector.

What is more, when evaluating leader people consider his/her achievement rather than his/her characteristic. Whether he/she was moral or immoral is subordinated to what dis he/she accomplished. There are many great leaders even though they were not moral correspondingly. Winston Churchill, for example, is a racist who discriminated Indian from others and treated Indian as inferior human species. However, no one doubts his performance at World War 2. No one would say that Churchill is not an effective leader because he was a racist. Likewise let us consider Roosevelt. Even though he had a tawdry affairs with other woman, he is regarded as one of the greatest president in United States because of his great achievement as New Deal. Without those examples, there are many managers who are not perfectly high-minded such as Lincoln, etc. In consequence, highest ethical and moral standards are not requirement to be an effective leader.

Finally, demanding to be virtuous can hamper leader's innovative policies. Sometimes successful innovations are controversial among people regarding its ethic problems. For example, South Korea government provided KT ,a press association in Korea, a personal information to deter infectious disease MERSC. Even though some people argued that providing personal information to private association is not ethical, it brought huge success in suppressing infection and saved many health. If government was hesitated to present the personal information because of ethic problems, many innocent people might die because of MERSC. Likewise, consider the medicines. Nowadays most of medicines experiment an animal testing to verify their effectiveness. Most of side effects are detected through animal testing. If an animal testing is banned due to its ethical problems such as whether is it right to treat animal as surrogates, these side effects will not be detected and many people will experience those. In conclusion, a leader sometimes should give up ethical and moral standards to be effective.

It is true that unethical person is unlikely to be a great leader. He/she might be corrupt and misappropriate lots of public money. However we also should recognize that achievement is more crucial factor than moral standard and what is more ethic can actually impede one's creative solution. Therefore I disagree with the statement based on above mentioned reasons.