To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Leadership is a very intricate and religious quality, which no everyone can posses. The prompt states that an effective leader should have a moral and ethical behaviour. I mostly agree to with the prompt that an effective leader should posses the highest moral and ethical standards. I believe this because of the following reasons.

History has taught us that people, who are unable to discern probity of the actions, tend to follow their leaders. As it is right believed that "With great power, comes great responsibility", thus a public official should inculcate high moral and ethical values, and influence the followers in the similar direction, and lead the nation towards greater heights. Nevertheless, a government official undertakes an action which is below moral codes or ethical, this might galvanise the it's protractors to do the same. For instance, in identity politics leadership of a specific section tends to bring the people of that section by instigating hate against the other sections. Like, during World War II, Hitler gained support from population by fomenting hatred against the Jews. Consequently, leading to the genocide of millions of people. Thus, a leader should be highly cautious of his or her actions, as it can lead to higher hate crimes and riots. The above example illustrates that if a leader is deprived of a correct moral behaviour and ethics, it would be catastrophic for the nation.

Moreover, our public servants represents the government, and in turn represent the whole nation. Therefore, it indispensable for his or her to maintain propriety and ethics, else it would be lead to a national embarrassment across the world. For instance, if an highest ranked official of the government is involved in a corruption case, it would be on the front page of the newspaper across the world the next day, thus hurting the nation's reputation. Like, in 2G spectrum corruption case, several in ministers were involved in providing the bandwidths illegally, and when it was unraveled, it turned out to be quite shameful for the nation. This example suggests that it a public official should behave in a ethical way, and should follow the moral codes of the post, till he or she is serving the office.

However, I also concede the fact that it is highly unrealistic and ingenuous for a public to expect it's leaders, who are also humans, to be free of any frailties. As humans, we are all susceptible to carry out unethical deeds, and break the moral codes which we used to brandish. As, it is rightly said that power corrupts, and some people argue that even the most ethical person will be breach the moral codes when he or she is provided with power. But, this vulnerability cannot justify the predicaments which can be caused if a immoral leader is put into power.

Conclusively, it is agreeable that power leads to corruption, however it is of paramount nature for a leader to inculcate high moral and ethical standards.