The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As the world has seen in past, a regime which has no opposition or remains unmanaged, has a high probability of turning tyrannical. I think it is indispensable for a society to question authority for it's own well-being. Following are two reasons and a concession presented to support this thesis.

Firstly, we live in a world where there's a possibility for a regime, who's sole purpose is to work for the betterment of the people, to turn dictatorial. And, this becomes a major reason for mass destruction and genocide. It is of very much importance to question the decisions taken by the authorities, so that there can be check on the power, and in turn precluding any possibility of the authority to turn autocratic. For instance, Nazism was a fascist and a horrific thought, but still there was a large population of Germany supporting this ideology which caused genocide among Jews. Our history is full of such examples, where a regime in power turns despotic and gets out of control. Thus, a healthy opposition is necessary for the democracy to sustain. Moreover, the citizens should also be vigilant in questioning the decisions of the people in power, instead of blindly following them.

Secondly, the society which is frequent enough in questioning the authority will be moving towards progress compared to a society which does not. We tend to believe that there's an inevitability of progress which governs our society as the time moves ahead. But, we there are a lot of examples in history which substantiates the claims that, old orthodox ideas are re-introduced. The people in power might try to penetrate old conventional ideas, be it economical, political or social, into our society. For example, the rise of Neo-nazism and Fascism are evidences corroborating this claim. Thus, it very essential to recognise trait of the regime in advance, and protest against it. Consequently, driving our society in the direction of progress.

Thirdly, some people might argue that a frequently questioning of decisions will result in lack of consensus among the citizens and the authorities. This might turn against some productive and fruitful steps taken by the government to bring change in our society. It is true that, lot of effort is required in eradicating the conventional practices, and there would be protest against these steps. But, this can be worked upon through the use judicial systems. Thus, asking questions and consequently keeping a check on the authority remains essential.

Conclusively, as per the reasons provided, citizens should be wary of the actions undertaken by the authority, and question them so that it helps in preventing the system from turning dictatorial.