Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Does our educational system create trailblazers capable of putting a dent in the world through innovation or just crowd followers with a degree. The prompt provides opinions supporting both the sides of the argument. However, in my opinion, the most fundamental flaw of today's educational system is that it precludes students from thinking out-of-the-box, and hinders their iconoclastic tendencies. I agree with people who believe that the current educational system circumscribes our minds and spirits of the students, instead of providing a credible platform to set them free.

Firstly, the educational system, designed years ago, seems anachronistic in today's sophisticated and cosmopolitan world. Instead of taking into account the growing technological advances across different fields, it provides students with the same rudimentary system focussing on theoretical learning, meanwhile ignoring the pragmatic aspects, and thus yielding mechanical beings who are not efficient in creative thinking. As the world demands, the graduates should be proficient in solving practical problems thorough innovative ideas, which can only be inculcated through practical exposure rather than bookish knowledge. For instance, many tech founders like Bill Gates and Mark Zuckerberg opted to drop out of their college education to solve real world problems, and the success of Microsoft and Facebook justifies their decision. Had they been sitting in classrooms and finishing their assignments, the world would not have been the same place. Thus, this proves that education does not help in providing students a platform for free thinking, contrastingly, inhibits the development of their mind and spirit.

Secondly, as the education system takes a financial toll over the students pursing courses through exorbitant fees, it is indispensable for them to get a job as soon as they complete their degree to pay back the educational loans. Thus, this restricts them from thinking differently which may include changing careers, starting a business, freelancing etc. For instance, a student who recently graduated in Computer Science, wants work on his own start-up for solving some real world problem, is unable to do so because of the loan payback. Therefore, instead of providing them with latitude and setting them free, our educational system inhibits student's freedom and weakens their risk taking abilities.

However, some may argue that formal education in paramount as it provides an idea of a person's qualification, and present them with exposure to different fields, consequently, helping a student to ruminate over eclectic career options. I concede this assertion, nevertheless, I don't agree that formal education is the only way to showcase qualification and explore diverse fields of work.

Finally, it's true that educational degrees help students in grabbing job offers and exploring different fields, but it restricts their ability of creative and innovative thinking, and dampens their will of taking risks in life by putting an enormous financial obligation over their shoulders.