Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In today's sophisticated and capricious world, it makes more sense to be the "Jack of all", instead of being a "Master of one". I agree with the prompt that universities should require each and every student to take diverse courses. Following are two reasons and a concession to support this thesis.

Firstly, as the society is progressing, there is a need for people who are skilled in variety of fields. People are running behind the versatile nature, instead of having depth in a specific field, which might get outcasted in near future. The mercurial nature of technology, culture as well as consumer trends are forcing the firms to recruit graduates who have insights in multiple subjects. For instance, as Computer Science is growing steeply, it's uses in different fields like economics, bio-informatics, Electronics etc. are growing as well. Thus, to solve a real life problem, an engineer, apart from computer science, should also have knowledge of economics, biology, electronics as well. The domains like algorithmic based stock trading are coming into existence, which involve computers science, as well as economics. Apart from this, it is also important to know foreign languages like French, Spanish, German etc. This enhances one's skillset, as well as helps in communicating with the foreign nationals. Therefore, nowadays, it is indispensable for students to undertake variety of courses outside their field of study.

Secondly, completing diverse courses can also provide students with a back-up option, if they want to change their major field of study. Sometimes, while enrolling in the colleges students take rash decisions of choosing a course without meticulously analysing their interests and inclinations. As a result, they are left dejected with line of study, and it becomes a tedious task for them just to clear the exam, leave alone making a profession in that field. Thus, minor courses can provide a way out, students can develop their careers in these fields. For example, a Sundar Pichai, CEO of Google, completed his bachelors in Metallurgical Engineering but later on, had a career managing one of the biggest Software giants. He has stated in his interviews that he loved coding/programming while in college, and this predisposition helped him in managing software products. Thus, undergoing variety of courses can help analyse and change their interests, and therefore, giving them multiple options to choose as a profession.

Thirdly, some may argue that undertaking different courses will impact the students in a negative way. As per them, it will hinder their concentration in the major field of study. And, it can be cumbersome for students to undergo such rigorous course structures. But, these reasons are not influential compared to the benefits provided by different courses.

Conclusively, it is essential for students to take variety of courses, as it strengthens their skillset, and provides them with a backup option if want to change their fields.