To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Understanding the characteristics of a society is ardous due it's involved and vast nature. The prompt states that the best approach regarding the comprehensive analysis of a society would be to study the major cities of it. I agree with this assertion that the cities give a wealth of information regarding the society. Following the are the two reasons and a concession to support the argument.

First of all, the historical characteristics of a respective society is highly influenced by the major cities of it. If one wants to analyse the historical aspects of a given society, it is indispensable to take into account the history of it's major cities. The cities define the highly important events which took place in past, and in turn had an enormous amount of impact of the evolution of the society. For instance, if someone wants to study the independence movement in modern India, he/she has take into account the city of Kanpur, which was known as the revolutionary capital at that time- because of freedom fighters residing there and the reactionary activities happening there against the colonial rule. Similarly, Champran Movement undertaken by Mahatama Gandhi started from Champaran in Bihar and spread all across India. The cities remain the cultural hub of a society, therefore have a direct impact on the development of the society.

Second of all, the major cities comprise a huge percentage of the economics of a country. The cities are areas where most industries reside- consequenlty, are responsible for driving the country's economy forward. To study the economic aspects of a country, it is not uncommon to comprehensively understand the economy of the major cities. For instance, a study of a country's political and economical aspects will involve grasping the political and economical aspect of it's capital as well as it's major cities. This info will provide good amount of information regarding the type of industries, the byproducts, daily wages of the workers and the trade unions. Most of the communist movements in the world started from the trade unions present in the factories around the major cities. Thus, the economic analysis of a city provide immense amount of knowledge regarding the society's economic functionality.

However, some may argue that, the study of a city provides a selective information regarding the cultural, political and social aspects of the society. This may be true for a particular society under some specific circumstances, but it cannot be challenged that the cities provide the most relevant data about a society.

In conclusion, comprehending the characteristics of society successfully is tedious task due to it's diversity and complexity. Hence, understanding the characteristics of it's major cities is the most relevant step towards achieving that goal.