A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Designing a curriculum has always been an intricate and a consequential task. The prompt states that a nation should have a common curriculum for all the students. I mostly disagree with the prompt that a nation should make stringent amendments regarding a common curriculum studied by its students before moving to college. This would lead to students spending more time on learning subjects which they do not want to pursue in future, and as well as it would also impair the diversity among the curriculums among different regions.

In high school, it is about the right time for a student to ruminate over the career choices he/she wants to undertake in future, and be selective of the subjects appropriately. However, if there's a strict curriculum imposed by the nation for all the students, it will force them to study subjects which do not interest them. Apart from this, learning subjects which appeal to the students will pave the way for college education, and develop enthusiasm in them regarding that field. For instance, a student interested in pursuing a career in Arts, should learn subjects related to the artistic field only. However, if he/she is forced to study STEM subjects like Physics, Computer Science etc. it would be futile, and would not be the proper utilisation of his/her time. This wasted time should be used for learning Arts in depth, and exploring the different virtues of the subject. Therefore, it would not be pertinent of the educational system to have a common curriculum across the nation.

A nations' curriculum is reflective of its diversity, consequently more eclectic a nation is, more comprehensive and inclusive should be the curriculum. Different elements or subjects, which may seem irrelevant to some part of nation, are indispensable to for adjacent region. For instance, in a country like India which is highly diverse and comprises of people belonging to different religion, culture and ethnicity, this parochial approach of having a common curriculum would be devastating, and might instigate resentment among the society. As India has different languages like Hindi, Kannada, Tamil, Punjabi and many more, depriving students from learning their mother tongue would be highly unfair, similarly forcing a student in Punjab to learn Tamil would be inimical as well. Thus, a common curriculum would in turn hamper the diversity in learning, which pivotal for a nation.

However, if all the students study same curriculum, they will be exposed to different fields of study, and can explore their options before enrolling themselves in a college degree. But, this can be achieved through workshops and sessions organised by the institutions, in helping its students making a decision regarding the career options available.

Conclusively, I believe that a having a common curriculum across the nation might give extra time to students to study different subjects, instead of making a allowing them to make a hasty decision of dropping them. However, this approach leads to time wastage which could be utilised for in-depth learning of a subject which actually engender interest and zeal among the student. Apart from this, a common curriculum would also be insular and estrange students from learning their regional subjects.