We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In today's sophisticated and cosmopolitan world, people have divergent opinions regarding a specific approach. The prompt states that similar views can enhance learning rather divergent views. I mostly disagree with the prompt that people who share our view can enhance our knowledge in a better way compared to the people who have divergent opinions. The diversity in opinions, in fact, leads to better solutions and profound knowledge of a specific field.

Opposing viewpoints reflect the diversity in thinking, as well as the eclectic background from which a person belongs. And, it is of paramount importance to adhere to these different opinions, and come up with a egalitarian result, which acceptable to all. If we tend to be insular in our thinking, instead of solving a problem, it can detriment the situation to a further extent. For example, in democracy it crucial to be inclusive of all the opinions, no matter if it belongs to a majority or minority. Thus, this dialectical mechanism would be helpful in maintaining unity and peace across the country. This is the reason Parliament or Congress consists of members belonging to different sections of a country, and representing the beliefs of that section. Consequently, a outcome created by synthesising diverse beliefs would be influential and acceptable to all. Hence, this can be proved that contradictory viewpoints can lead to better results.

If a person is intransigent in his approach, then he/she may be losing on some creative measures which can be incorporated in his/her work. Diversity among the thinking helps a lot in problem solving. When a person having a tunnel vision approaches a task in a certain way which might not be acceptable to others. For instance, when a writer completes his/her book, even the famous ones, he/she sends a copy of it to the peers. This would result in getting feedbacks from people having different opinions compared to the author, and might underscore some incompatibilities or errors present in the book which can only be identified through contradictory opinions. Similarly, this is analogous to common people as well, who undertaking a task, should listen to different opinions, which would help them in thinking differently, and enhance their problem solving appraoch.

However, I concede that inculcating diverse opinions and viewpoints can sometimes be counter productive s well. When the viewpoints of two people differ on a fundamental level, it cumbersome, nearly impossible, to bring them on a same level. Moreover, this would result in increased number of disagreements and contentions at every step. Nevertheless, this happens quite rarely, and compromises made by the two parties can help they confirm on a specific viewpoint.

Conclusively, learning is a very tedious and convoluted process, and it is true that divergent viewpoint can lead to contradictions and hinder the process of development. However, in most of the time eclectic views can help build a common and more acceptable viewpoint and thus, aggrandise the learning process.