We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is known to us that different people have a varied opinions on things in comparison to other people. It might be due to numerous causes, like their upbringing, their past experiences, their beliefs etc. The prompt suggests that people can learn much more from people whose views they share rather than from people whose views views contradicts their own. In my opinion, I disagree with this suggestion for two reasons and argue that only when there are contradicting opinions there can be progress.

To begin, it is not very rare for people to bash heads due to their contradicting views and opinions. Only when this happens, there can be real progress in any area. What would happen if there are no new scientific discoveries disproving the already established scientific theories of many great scientists. Madam Curie was the scientist to discover radium, a radioactive element, which was highly unstable. Before this, it was generally thought that the elements were perfectly stable. So, if all scientists shared the same ideology in doing things, there would be little to no progress in discoveries and new learning about the earth. This tells us that people function in their peak condition in situations like these.

Further, a sense of competition is generated from contradicting views on things, which leads to trying to prove the other person wrong, which in turn leads to innovation and cheaper products. There is the age old debate of Android mobiles and Apple Iphones. If Apple had not launched the completely touch enabled Iphone 1, then the other companies would not rethink about the direction in which their research and development was heading, and would get complacent with their position in the industry. Since Apple did what it did, many companies started adapting to the rapidly changing market to cement their position in it. As this happened, there was a sudden shift in the types of mobiles people were able to buy. Also, competition helps in the coming down of prices of things, be it anything like digital services, electronics or even regular groceries. This results in entire nations and its people flourishing.

Of course some people think that when there are like minded people around them sharing the same opinions a lot of things can be done quickly. However, it might not hold good everywhere as there might be things which none of them might address while arriving at the conclusion which might prove fatal for some one. In Conclusion, contradicting opinions from the people around you can help make a better decision and a lot can be learned by both of them from each other.