Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position

In this current age where there are a lot of professional college courses, students try and choose the courses they like. It is in the hands of students whether they make the most of their time at the institution and flourish or completely fail at it. The prompt suggests that educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. In my opinion, I don’t agree with what the prompt suggests for two main reasons. As I feel that the decision to choose a field of study should remain with the student himself and there shouldn’t be any influence by the institution on this .

To begin, Students spend a humungous amount of time on choosing what their field of study should be. They take into account interests, their fluency in the field, their confidence and if they would be interested to pursue that field if they are not familiar with it. So, students are already capable of choosing what they like and how they would fare in that particular field. If the institution persuades them to no take their interested field, it just wastes the pain and effort taken by the student to find what they would like to do. They would nit like what they are persuing and would ultimately fail completely.

Further, the prompt suggests that the institution will dissuade students from choosing a field, the only way this can be done is by reviewing the past performance the student in that area. But this could prove a wrong method to evaluate how the students might perform if they were to choose that area. As the conditions which influenced their performance to be in that manner are not taken into account. If a student wants to pursue a career in acting, but his performance pertaining to the acting related courses is poor, it might be due to a variety of conditions. The student can have a knack for acting but is still improving. As acting skills can be honed through rigorous practice. So, directly persuading the student to consider other areas is flawed.

Of course, a few people might think that the educational institute’s persuasion is completely justifiable. But, students are the one who ultimately get into that field and they might not really like what it offers.In conclusion, students should be entitled to choose their own career path and field of study in their own way, and educational institutions should not be allowed to dissuade them from their chosen field of study.