The following is a letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria. "Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry. In order to stop the erosion, we should charge people for using the beaches. Although this solution may annoy a few tourists in the short term, it will raise money for replenishing the sand. Replenishing the sand, as was done to protect buildings on the nearby island of Batia, will help protect buildings along our shores, thereby reducing these buildings' risk of additional damage from severe storms. And since beaches and buildings in the area will be preserved, Tria's tourist industry will improve over the long term." Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria, it is suggested that collection of money from tourists to use the beaches be started to use that money stop the erosion of the beaches. The tourism bureau has come to this conclusion based on the previous work done by the island of Batia to tackle erosion on their island. However, three questions must be answered by this argument before it can be properly evaluated.

Firstly, will people be inclined to come to the beaches if there is a monetary fee involved to use the beaches? As the use of beaches was free just a while ago, many people might not be in favour to pay the fee against the prediction of the tourism bureau's prediction of a few discontented people. If this is the case, then the assumption made by the tourism bureau is seriously flawed and can only be evaluated when there is a report of the number of people willing to pay the fee.

Secondly, will the fee money from the tourists be enough to replenish the sand on the beaches? It is not stated as to how much amount of money will be needed for the replenishment of the sand along the shoreline and how long it would take to reach necessary quantity of funding for sand replenishment along the shoreline. So, it is not known as to how long it would take to reach the above mentioned goal of sand replenishment along the shoreline. So, before the argument above can be evaluated, a report describing the money needed for the sand replenishment and the duration of the collection of fees for the use of beaches could prove useful.

Thirdly, did the island of Batia raise money for tackling soil erosion by asking tourists to pay a fee to use their beaches? It is prematurely assumed that the island of batia has done the same thing as proposed by the tourism bureau of the island of tria. Even if the island of batia has devised a solution in the same way as proposed by the island of tria, it would still be unknown as to how the people responded to the fee. So, If the above assumption is supported by an evidence, then it would be helpful to evaluate the argument.

In conclusion, the argument in the letter is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the above mentioned three questions and offer evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed claim to charge people to use beaches.