The following is a letter to the head of the tourism bureau on the island of Tria Erosion of beach sand along the shores of Tria Island is a serious threat to our island and our tourist industry In order to stop the erosion we should charge people for usi

In the letter sent to the head of the tourism bureau about the island of Tria, the author concludes that in order to improve Tria's tourist industry over the long term, people should be charged and the sand of the island should be replenished like it was done to the Batia island. However, the argument fails to provide some evidence upon which the argument was based, and thus is not logically convincing.

To begin, the argument did not address the opinion that people might stop using the beaches once they are charged. Perhaps, the people who visit the beach do so because they do not pay. Thus, before fully implementing this suggestion, it is important that a test run be done to see people's view about the new development. If those who use the beach do so because they do not pay, it is likely that they stop going to the beach once a fee is required of them. This will then mean that the funds needed to protect the buildings cannot be raised.

Also, the author needs to make clear what the cause of the erosion is. The cause of the erosion was not stated in any part of the argument. If the erosion is caused by the activities of people on the beach, then replenishing the sand might not prove successful. Instead, the activities of the users should be controlled than monitored rather than investing a huge amount of money on replenishing the sand which will still be washed away if human activities are not controlled.

Lastly, the author needs to provide an evidence that replenishing the sand of the island, like it was done in Bertia, will result in preservation of the buildings near the island. Perhaps, other things have been put in place by the people of Bertia to control the erosion experienced asides replenishing of the sand. They might have reduced activities such as fishing, canoeing and swimming alongside replenishing the sand. Thus, the author needs to prove that this measure alone will help protect the building or other measures will be put in place as well.

In conclusion, it can be seen from above that the argument is logically unsound without the evidences demanded. To strengthen, the argument, the author should let us know if people will continue to use the beach once they are being charged, what the cause of the erosion is, to help us evaluate if the measure to be put in place will help raise enough fund for the project, will control the erosion and thus protect the buildings near the island and in turn improve the tourist industry.