Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing and sup

Should one's career path be dictated by others? While some people needs help in choosing a field of study, others already know and have developed an interest in a particular field of study and as such are likely to fail if such interest in changed by an educational institution. In my view, educational institutions should not dictate to students what field of study they should pursue, this is because it can result in the likelihood of not succeeding in such fields as compared to one's field of interest.

Dissuading a student from pursuing his interest in a field of study disposes such to failure in the long run. In a case where by a student is prevented from having a career in a particular field which interests him, he ends up not showing up and paying the due diligence needed to succeed. For example, in one of the higher institutions in Nigeria, students are to take an entrance examination to determine if they have the capacity to succeed in their chosen field of interest. Students who fail to score up to the cut off mark of their program of interest ended up being admitted to programs which most times are not related to their chosen program. It has been reported that, a number of such Students ended up taking the admission and failing at it because it was "assigned" to them and not of their interest. In a situation like this, students career or long term goals are ruined and as such the proposed policy should not be implemented.

Another result of implementing such a policy is having more people pursuing fields of study in a particular category and few in others. Due to a widely accepted claim that fields of study in the science category are more difficult than other fields in the arts and commercial, a number of students who feel incapable ended up studying in those fields other than sciences.

However, some students end up having a greater interest in the fields they are advised to pursue and succeed greatly at it. Despite that, there is a greater possibility that such students might have succeeded more in their field of interest than in the one they are advised to pursue. So, why not allow students pursue their interest?

In conclusion, educational institutions should not in any way dissuade students from pursuing fields of study they perceive they are unlikely to succeed. Instead they should allow them pursue their field of interests to prevent producing failures or incompetent individuals in different fields of study. We all have things that interest us and we succeed greatly doing them. As such, educational pursuit should not be an exception.