The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore a chain of movie rental stores quot Because of declining profits we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore 039 s ten movie rental stores Raising prices is not a good opti

The memorandum from the owner of the Movies Galore concludes that since few complaints have been received as regards the reduction of operating hours and overall inventory in one of their stores, the method should be used in all of their stores to improve their profits. However, the basis upon which the conclusion is drawn is not logically sound as the argument lacks vital evidences that will help us evaluate the likelihood that the argument is warranted.

To start, the author assumes that reducing their opening hours will equate an increase in the profit made. Yet, there is no evidence anywhere in the argument on how this will happen or how feasible this is. The author needs to provide evidence supporting this claim. Perhaps, more viewers at the Movies Galore are independent workers who have their leisure between 7pm and 9pm and thus will be unable to see a movie during the stores' opening hours. If this is the case, the profit of the stores will likely reduce as less number of people will view movies at their store and others might choose some other movie stores with comfortable closing hours.

In the same vein, the owner of Movies Galore fails to indicate that their viewers are not interested in movies released beyond 5 years ago. Perhaps, their viewers consist mainly of old men who wants to keep seeing movies made in their age, or young ones who wants to see old movies that have been described to them by their parents. Thus, in this case, they might have to choose another store which have such movies available. This translates to loss of viewers and ultimately a further decrease in their profit.

Lastly, the argument does not in any way mention that viewers all across their store have the same taste of movies and are available to see movies during the proposed operating hours. It should be confirmed that viewers in other stores aside the ones that have implemented the new policy will make no complaint or few ones about them. Majority of viewers at other store might not be pleased with this policy and thus show their concern than those at the previous store.

In conclusion, to strengthen the argument, the author needs to provide evidence that their viewers will be available to view their movies during their operating hours, that they are not interested in movies made over 5 years ago and that viewers across their stores will accept the policy the same way. If these evidences are found otherwise, then the argument will be greatly flawed as it will not only reduce the profit of the Movies Galore, it can lead to loss of customers and shut down of the business.