Educators should take students interests into account when planning the content of the courses they teach Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position y

I believe that the development of a curriculum is not a child's play and it should be done by those who are experienced; that is, people, in this case, educators who are familiar with the specific field of study and the requirements needed to succeed or progress in such field. The prompt states that educators should consider students interest and include them in the curriculum. In my opinion, though the interest of students can be included in a curriculum, it should not be exclusive for two reasons.

The desire of every student interested in the same field of study varies. Consider for example, in the biological sciences, some are interested in the study of plants and others in animals. Before the start of their studies, such students might not be familiar with the existence and usefulness of microorganisms. But because the curriculum was developed by educators to help them make the right decision on what their career focus will be, some of them might end up changing their interest because they were able to learn from the 'wide' scope of the curriculum. If the students interest only has been put into consideration, they would not have the opportunity to learn novel things which are of great importance.

As a biological science student, until now I never knew that subjects such as statistics and physics are key subjects that I should offer. I took the courses only because they are requirements for the completion of my degree program. In my search for graduate school programs, I began to find that these courses are prerequisites to be admitted into my program of interest. So, if my college curriculum was designed based on my interest only, I would not have satisfied the requirements for such programs that I consider pursuing.

It is important to state that not all students interest should be included in the curriculum. Some students in the sciences love art work and might request that such should be added to the curriculum. This can be a distraction to their focus and should not be considered. Instead, such should be replaced with related contents such as practical on how to monetize the knowledge being transferred to them, ranging from making of soaps locally to production of paints, thus keeping them focused and in line with their program.

As the examples above have shown, the design of curriculum, though should be considered should not be based entirely on students' interest, the expertise and experience of educators should be involved.