The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people s efficiency so that they have more leisure time

Unarguably, technological advancements have contributed immensely to our society at large from automation of certain processes to ease of performing duties and also increase in human productivity. While technology has helped to reduce the time and effort needed in certain areas of human endeavors, thus increasing our efficiency, technology still cannot be applied in some of our daily routines. In my opinion, technological advancement has contributed to increasing human efficiency but not necessarily increase our leisure time, because it has only availed us more time to do some other things that technology cannot and might not be able to help us do.

Consider for example, for students, technology advancements have brought about easy access to academic materials such as journals, textbooks, and papers which can be gotten quickly online by just entering the right keyword in the search box, unlike in the seventeenth and eighteenth century where there are no materials of such. Apparently, the time for material search has been greatly reduced but this is not equivalent to having more leisure time for students. Other responsibilities are there for students which cannot be automated. This include reading of their books, compilation of assignments, tutoring of their juniors and some other things. So, in this case, technology has just offered them more time to perform other duties and not necessarily increase their leisure time.

Also, a number of people hire laborers to help them in some house chores simply because they do not have enough time to do those things for themselves. With the advent of technology, such can now purchase home appliances such as washing machines and electric blenders that help in performing the chores thus reducing their cost and availing them more time for their work and even for their family.

However, some might argue that technology has afforded humans more leisure time. If technology has helped us to automate processes in our work such as the use of software to analyze our data, the use of telephone to reach our clients instead of traveling down to them, why can't we just invest the remaining time provided us into some other things? Which is what majority will do as humans in nature are adventurous.

In conclusion, though technology has helped and will continually contribute to the increase in human efficiency, it is not equivalent to increasing their leisure time. It has only provided them more time to respond to other responsibilities as seen in the examples provided.